Junior Defensive Tackle Jake Visser Tabbed As Squad's MVP

Ferris State University junior defensive tackle Jake Visser (Coopersville) was recently honored as the Bulldogs' 2007 team Most Valuable Player Award recipient. The award winners were announced at the program's season-ending awards banquet last Sunday (Nov. 11) at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Center in Big Rapids, Mich.

In additon to being recognized as the squad's MVP, Visser also claimed the team's Most Valuable Defensive Lineman Award for the second-straight year. This past week, Visser received the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Defensive Lineman of the Year honor.

The team's Most Valuable Offensive Lineman Award was given to senior offensive guard Bill Bourdlais (Newberry), who joined Visser this year as an All-GLIAC First Team honore.

The Bulldog coaching staff presented the Most Valuable Offensive Skill Player honor to senior quarterback C.J. Van Wieren (Holland/West Ottawa). The 6-4 Van Wieren ran for a personal career-high 1,015 rushing yards this season and completed 129-of-243 passes for 1,835 yards. He also accounted for 25 touchdowns by throwing for 13 scores and running for 12 more.

Senior defensive back Patrick Wells (Miamisburg, Ohio) picked up team Most Valuable Defensive Skill Player honors while junior kicker-punter Jim Yates (Goshen, Ind.) was the recipient of FSU's Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Rookie laurels were earned by redshirt freshman offensive tackle Matt Wellman (Portland) and junior defensive back Terrell Heggins (Lansing/Everett), respectively. Meanwhile, junior middle linebacker Kevin Noe (Orleans/Belding) claimed Most Improved Defensive Player kudos while sophomore center Joe Doman (Ann Arbor/Whitmore Lake) tallied the program's Most Improved Offensive Player Award.

The staff also recognized senior tailback Kirk Covey (Cedar Springs) and senior slot receiver Robert Miller (Carson, Calif.) as Coaches Award honorees. Bulldog Spirit Awards were given to outside linebacker Jordan Moore (Ada/Lowell) and senior receiver Mike Guevara (Oakland, Calif./Oxnard).

Senior defensive end Erik Schumacher (Lake Isabella/Beal City) and senior receiver Nate Fricke (Covert) both received the Rich Currie EPEP (Every Player, Every Play) Award for the defensive and offensive units, respectively.

Freshman linebacker Chris Callender (Shelby Township/Utica Eisenhower) was this year's recipient of the Tomorrow's Team Defensive Player of the Year Award and the Bill and Lynne Scheible Scholarship Award for Tomorrow's Team Offensive Player of the Year Award went to freshman quarterback Tom Schneider (Jerome/Addison).

Additionally, the Bulldogs recognized Visser, Van Wieren, Bourdlais and Schumacher for their roles in serving as team captains for the 2007 season.

The Bulldogs registered their fourth winning season in the last five years with a 6-5 overall record this season. It represented the program's eighth winning campaign in 13 years under head coach Jeff Pierce and marks the 13th time in the last 19 years the Bulldogs have finished above .500 for the year. FSU was an even 5-5 in GLIAC action this campaign as the Bulldogs won their final two games of the season in thrilling fashion.

2007 Team Award Winners:
Most Valuable Player - Jake Visser
Most Valuable Offensive Lineman - Bill Bourdlais
Most Valuable Defensive Lineman - Jake Visser
Most Valuable Offensive SKill Player - C.J. Van Wieren
Most Valuable Defensive Skill Player - Patrick Wells
Special Teams Player of the Year - Jim Yates
Coaches Award - Kirk Covey (Offense), Robert Miller (Offense)
Bulldog Spirit Award- Jordan Moore (Defense), Mike Guevara (Offense)
Most Improved Offensive Player - Joe Doman
Most Improved Defensive Player - Kevin Noe
Outstanding Offensive Rookie - Matt Wellman
Outstanding Defensive Rookie - Terrell Heggins
Rich Currie EPEP - Erik Schumacher (Defense), Nate Fricke (Offense)
Tomorrow's Team Defensive Player of the Year - Chris Callender
Tomorrow's Team Offensive Player of the Year - Tom Schneider
Team Captains - C.J. Van Wieren, Jake Visser, Erik Schumacher, Bill Bourdlais

FSU Home Sports Football Search