Former Ferris State Football Student-Athlete Earns National Honor By The Division II Conference Commissioners Association

*2006-07 Division II Conference Commissioners Association National Scholar Awards Release* PDF

Mike Klobucher
Mike Klobucher has been chosen by the Conference Commissioners Association as the NCAA Division II's 2006-07 Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
For the first time in its illustrious athletics history, Ferris State University can now boast of having a Division II Conference Commissioners Association (CAA) National Scholar-Athlete of the Year as former football student-athlete Mike Klobucher (Grand Haven/North Muskegon) has been named the top male recipient of the prestigious honor in an announcement made Tuesday (Oct. 2) by CCA Chairperson and Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) Commissioner Steve Murray.

The Division II Scholar-Athletes of the Year awards are sponsored by Disney's Wide World of Sports Complex.

Klobucher, who concluded his four-year (2003-06) career at FSU last fall, was tabbed the top male scholar-athlete while Jamie Wolf of Clarion (Pa.) University was selected as the top female scholar-athlete. Wolf competed in women's diving at Clarion and ended her four-year career as the three-time NCAA II Female Diver of the Year (2004, 2005, 2007). The honor bestowed upon Klobucher and Wilson wraps up a selection process guided by the Division II Commissioners Association. In September 2007, 16 regional scholar-athlete award winners were chosen with Klobucher being chosen as the Great Lakes Region's Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

In the eight-year history of the award, Klobucher becomes the second student-athlete from a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC)-member school since 2003-04 to achieve such national acclaim. Alice Duesing (women's basketball) of Lake Superior State University was named the CCA's Division II top female scholar-athlete for the 2003-04 season.

Joining Klobucher as men's regional winners were Glen Black (Tusculum), Michael Greenwood (North Dakota), Adam Jensen (Seattle), Morten Jensen (Dowling), Ryan Meredith (Pittsburg State), Patrick Rittenauer (Barry), and Chris Robson (Lock Haven).

The award provides an opportunity for Division II to highlight the achievements of its student-athletes. The commissioners from the regions which comprise the Division II basketball alignment selected the regional winners. To be nominated for consideration, a student-athlete must have attained a 3.0 career cumulative grade point average and possess outstanding athletic credentials.

Klobucher, who graduated with a 4.0 cumulative grade point average in applied biology, was chosen as the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) 2006-07 Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year as voted by the conference's faculty-athletic representatives.

The three-year starter at middle linebacker not only was the 2006 recipient of the GLIAC's Jack H. McAvoy Award for outstanding character and leadership on the field, but also received ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Football First-Team accolades as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) and was a 2006 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Division II Coaches All-America Team honoree.

The two-time (2005-06) team defensive co-captain was chosen as member of the 2006 National Football Foundation's (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete Class and was a finalist for the prestigious Draddy Trophy, which is awarded annually to college football's top scholar-athlete. In late April 2007, Klobucher was inducted into the inaugural NFF National Honor Society after being selected as the 2006 NFF Michigan Chapter's Morley Fraser Award Division II Scholar-Athlete.

Mike Klobucher

The 2006 All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) First-Team pick and two-time (2005-06) FSU Most Valuable Player paced Ferris State in tackles this past campaign for the third consecutive year with 92 total stops (47 solos) in 10 contests as the nationally-ranked Bulldogs produced their best record since 1996 at 8-3-0 overall. He finished 26th among the final NCAA-II statistical leaders in total tackles per game (9.2 avg.) while ranking 31st in solo tackles (4.7 avg.). The 2006 FSU football Rich Currie E.P.E.P. (Every Player, Every Play) Award co-winner concluded his collegiate career ranking seventh among the program's all-time tackles leaders with 389 career stops (206 solos) in 42 games.

Klobucher garnered 2006 GLIAC All-Academic Team laurels and was the 2006 squad's recipient of the FSU President's Academic Award for having the team's highest cumulative grade point average. He was tabbed as the 2006 October Male Athlete Bulldog of The Month honoree and was the 2006-07 recipient of the Dean Davenport "Bulldog of the Year" Award, which is presented annually by the Ferris State Athletics Department to the most outstanding male and female student-athlete.

Klobucher, who joins former softball standout Anne Bentley (2000), as the only two regional award recipients from Ferris State, recently had a professional football league tryout last month in the newly-created All American Football League (AAFL) and is eligible for the league's draft in January 2008.

FSU Home Sports Schedules Search