National Football Foundation Honors Ferris State Football Student-Athlete

Senior Mike Klobucher (Grand Haven/North Muskegon) of the 2006 Ferris State University football team has been selected to the National Football Foundation's (NFF) Inaugural National Honor Society. The announcement was made Wednesday (April 25) by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Mike Klobucher
Ferris State's Mike Klobucher has been chosen as a member of the inaugural NFF National Honor Society.

The inaugural NFF Honor Society is comprised of college football student-athletes from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 cumulative grade point average or better. Klobucher is among 345 individuals from 195 schools to earn recognition as part of the inaugural class.

"The inaugural class of the Honor Society contains an outstanding group of young men who simply set the standard for excellence on and off the field, and we are proud to showcase their accomplishments as a powerful example of football's unique ability to produce the next generation of great leaders," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "We anticipate that the program will grow dramatically in the coming years, and we project recognizing hundreds of more student-athletes each year as people learn about the qualifications for membership and submit additional nominations."

Klobucher, a three-year starter at middle linebacker, received All-America honors both academically and athletically following the 2006 campaign. The two-time (2005-06) FSU defensive co-captain was recognized as a 2006 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Football First-Team member as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) and was also named to the 2006 American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Division II Coaches All-America Team.

A 2006 All-Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) First-Team pick and twice (2005-06) FSU's Most Valuable Player, Klobucher was chosen as a 2006 NFF National Scholar-Athlete and received an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The 6-2, 248-pound linebacker was a finalist for the prestigious Draddy Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation's top college football scholar-athlete. He also was named the NFF's Michigan Chapter Division II recipient of the Morley Fraser Award, which is given to a collegiate football player who demonstrates academic achievement, football ability and leadership.

Klobucher was the recipient of the 2006 GLIAC's Jack H. McAvoy Award for displaying outstanding character and leadership. The three-time (2004-06) GLIAC All-Academic honoree was named to ESPN The Magazine's Academic All-District IV squad in back-to-back years (2005 and 2006).

A two-time (2004-05) honorable mention All-GLIAC selection, Klobucher paced Ferris State in tackles for the 2006 campaign with 92 total stops (47 solos) in 10 contests. He concluded his four-year Bulldog career ranking seventh among the FSU program all-time leaders in tackles with 389 career stops (206 solos) in 42 contests.

Qualifications for membership in the inaugural NFF National Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; achieve at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meet all NCAA-mandated progress toward degree requirements.

The National Honor Society becomes the latest component of the organization's efforts to promote combined athletic and academic success. Launched in 1959, the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete Award program became the first initiative in history to credit a player for his combined academic success, football performance and community leadership. Since its inception, the NFF' National Scholar-Athlete Awards program has awarded $8.3 million to 678 top scholars and community leaders. Currently, the NFF distributes approximately $320,000 a year at the national level through the program to 15 to 17 individuals. Each winner of a National Scholar-Athlete Award receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.

As part of the launch, the NFF has established a national advisory committee, including representatives from the seven major conferences, a college president, a conference commissioner, an athletics director, and a Division I-A head football coach. Each one of these representatives provided comprehensive feedback in developing the Honor Society.

FSU Home Sports Football Search