Bulldogs Shutout Host Connecticut In Championship Game

The 2007-08 Ferris State University men's ice hockey team will begin the 2008 New Year on a happy note as the Bulldogs claimed the 15th annual Toyota UConn Hockey Classic Championship title with a 5-0 victory over the host Connecticut Huskies in Sunday (Dec. 30) evening's championship contest.

Ferris State advanced to the title game with a 2-1 win against Brown in the tourney's opening semifinal-round matchup Saturday (Dec. 29) at UConn's Freitas Ice Forum in Storrs, Conn. Ferris State along with host Connecticut, Brown and Army comprised the four-team tournament field.

Ferris State's 2007-08 captains - (L-R): Cody Chupp, Adam Welch, Alex Spezia, and Matt Frank are pictured with the 2007 Toyota UConn Hockey Classic Championship Trophy.
Following the championship tilt, sophomore left wing Blair Riley (Kamloops, British Columbia), freshman left wing Mike Fillinger (Grand Ledge), freshman center Justin Menke (Shamrock, Saskatchewan), and junior goaltender Mitch O'Keefe (Almonte, Ontario) were named to the Toyota UConn Hockey Classic All-Tournament Team. Riley was also selected as the tourney's Most Valuable Player.

Ferris State, which is currently 9-8-1 overall this season, is among those teams receiving votes in this week's (Dec. 31) U.S. College Hockey Online/CSTV poll as the Bulldogs attained eight points. FSU, under 16th-year head coach Bob Daniels, was also recognized nationally by Inside College Hockey.com in this week's (Dec. 30) rankings.

Ferris State will entertain the U.S. National Development Under-18 Team this Friday (Jan. 4) in an exhibition matchup at FSU's Ewigleben Ice Arena in Big Rapids, Mich. Opening faceoff is slated for 7:05 p.m. (EST) and tickets can be purchased by contacting the FSU Athletics Ticket Office at (231) 591-2888.

FSU Home Sports Hockey Search