Aaron Lewicki A Repeat Finalist Selection For League's Top Academic Honor

*2008-09 CCHA Scholar-Athletes of the Year Release* PDF

Junior Aaron Lewicki (Livonia) of the 2008-09 Ferris State University men's ice hockey team has been chosen as the Bulldogs' representative for the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) Scholar-Athlete of the Year this season.

Lewicki, who was FSU's CCHA Scholar-Athlete a season ago, is among 12 outstanding student-athletes to be designated as their team's 2008-09 CCHA Scholar-Athlete. As a result, the 6-0, 192-pound center is under consideration for the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award.

Aaron Lewicki
Aaron Lewicki has been tabbed as Ferris State's CCHA Scholar-Athlete for the second consecutive season.

The recipient of the CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2008-09 season will be selected from among the 12-member group and will be announced at the 2009 CCHA Awards Banquet next Thursday, March 19, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit, Mich.

A finance major, Lewicki registered a career single-season best and team third-most 20 points with career season highs in both goals (10) and assists (10) in 37 contests. His 10 lamplighters this campaign tied for top team honors. Lewicki notched a pair of game-winning tallies this season versus Lake Superior State (Nov. 1) and against Alabama-Huntsville (Dec. 12). He produced at least a point in 16 outings this season, which included four multiple-point game performances.

In 108 career games to date, Lewicki has amassed 48 points with 23 goals and 25 assists. The 2007-08 FSU Scholar-Athlete Award winner has generated two power-play markers, one short-handed tally, and five game-winning goals in his collegiate career.

The faculty representative at each CCHA-member school, in consultation with the head coach, selected their institution's Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Each school's Scholar-Athlete of the Year serves as the school's nominee for CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Nominees must have a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.25 through the fall term of the selection year to receive their school's Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award. The CCHA Scholar-Athlete of the Year is selected by the 12 faculty representatives at each CCHA-member school. Voting is based on a system awarding five points for a first-place vote, three points for a second-place vote and one point for a third-place vote.

The 2009 CCHA Awards event is open to the public and tickets are $15 apiece. The evening starts with a social hour at 6:30 p.m. (EDT) proceeded by the awards presentation at 7:30 p.m. (EDT). Tickets may be purchased at the door or by mailing a check or money order to: CCHA, 23995 Freeway Park Dr., Farmington Hills, Mich. 48335.

Ferris State finished the 2008-09 season with a 12-19-7 overall record and posted a ninth-place 9-15-5-2 mark in the CCHA.

FSU Home Sports Hockey Search