Ferris State Athletics


GVSU Captures Men's & Women's Team Titles; FSU Women Qualify For Nationals

NCAA Regional The Grand Valley State University men's and women's cross country teams both captured the overall team titles while host Ferris State University's women's team earned a national qualifying berth in the 2008 NCAA Division II Midwest Regional Cross Country Championships held Saturday (Nov. 8) at FSU's Katke Golf Course in Big Rapids, Mich.

The event, which was hosted by Ferris State, drew nearly 300 competitors and included men's and women's teams from more than 20 institutions.

Wayne State's Rachelle Malette claimed the women's overall regional title as she placed first in the 132-runner field in a time of 21:19.1 on the 6K course. Megan Maceratini of Grand Valley State placed second (21:31.8), Wisconsin-Parkside's took third place (21:33.6), Mary Ballinger of Southern Indiana finished fourth (21:49.5) and Ferris State's Tina Muir was fifth (21:56.8).

Grand Valley State totaled 35 points to win the women's crown with Wayne State second (90), Ferris State third (111) and Southern Indiana fourth (113).

In the men's race, Grand Valley State's Chris Hammer was the individual champion. He completed the 10K course in a time of 31:52.8 to outdistance second-place finisher Jaime Villa Zapatero of Drury (31:53.6). Wayne State's Abdullah Saleh picked up third place honors (31:59.9), Bryan Phillips of Southern Indiana was fourth (32:07.7) and Hillsdale's Tim Jagielski placed fifth (32:07.7) among the 130 men's finishers.

Grand Valley State netted 45 points in earning the men's overall title. Wayne State and Southern Indiana tied for second place (102) and Ashland finished fourth (108). Ferris State's men's team came in 17th overall.

The top four teams in the men's division along with top three women's teams plus the top two individuals not associated with one of the qualifying teams earned bids to the NCAA Division II Championships slated to be held Saturday, Nov. 22, in Slippery Rock, Pa.

Individual qualifiers included Wisconsin-Parkside's Jessica Monson and Southern Indiana's Mary Ballinger in the women's division along with Drury's Jaime Villa Zapatero and Hillsdale's Tim Jagielski in the men's field.

All-Region awards were presented to the top 15 finishers in both the men's and women's races.

Final Meet Results:
*Women's Team Results
*Women's Individual Results
*Men's Team Results
*Men's Individual Results

FSU Home Sports NCAA Regional Search